Garlicky Kale and Cabbage

IMG_2507 (1)
Garlicky Kale and Cabbage

I have a confession to make.. I LOVE cabbage. To me it is one of those vegetables that I don’t put in the same category of vegetables. You know what I mean? Like when someone starts going through the list of vegetables that you can add to your dietary eating habits and you frown because you don’t like them. I am like, “you shouldn’t even have to mention cabbage because that should have automatically been in your rotation”. Yes, that is exactly how I feel.

So last night, I knew that I wanted cabbage for dinner. I knew it as soon as I woke up that morning. I went to the store and picked up a cabbage and low and behold what was looking at me was the kale. Now I will eat kale in various ways but I have never thought to mix kale with my beloved cabbage, until yesterday. My head was swarming with how to prepare a dish with both vegetables (more on the different ways that ran through my head later) but I decided upon something simple to just try to flavor profile of the combo. What came about was something flavorful and awesome. I can not believe I have never mixed to two before now but it surely won’t me my last time.

So my love affair with cabbage is about to include having a little relationship with kale every so often. Since they both pack a host of nutritional elements I can’t  go wrong.

My crew enjoyed it and asked for seconds, so needless to say this will be a great go to dish in this household. I pray that you enjoy it as much as we did.

Garlicky Kale and Cabbage

(serves 6)

1- large cabbage (chopped)

1 lb of Kale (stems removed and chopped)

3 cloves of garlic (minced)

1 tablespoon of avocado oil

1 small onion (diced)

1 tablespoon of parsley (chopped)

salt and pepper (as desired)

Sauté onion in a shallow skillet with avocado oil on medium heat. Sauté until onion is translucent (about 5-7 minutes). Add garlic and let it cook for 1 minute. Add kale to skillet and cook for two minutes (tossing occasionally). Add cabbage, toss with kale and place the lid on skillet for about 2-3 minutes. Add parsley and salt and pepper to taste.

 

Eat your veggies,

B

Leave a Reply

